Cline's Mind

Cline's Mind (Metal) - New York

"The Dying Earth" Album Review
The opener "Lifeless" has a Metalcore vibe to it as it's like a runaway freight train during its five minute length. The clean sung chorus chimes in but doesn't overpower the track. Overall it's a tremendous opener that pulls in the listener with ease. "Chemical Hell" keeps the breakneck pace churning along. The track features some stellar breakdowns and brings with it an old school Killswitch Engage like sound. The guitar solo later on is top notch. "Take Me Away" drives ahead with melodic riffs from the first note. There's more melody on the track but it's Metal through and through. The track screams single for sure. The title track is next and brings with it more Killswitch Engage sound. The track will induce some serious moshing and singing along. "Awaken The Giant" is five minutes of slower, sludgy Metal. The sound is more timid but ups at times to create a whirlwind of riffs and vocals. "Torn Existence" kicks the pace back up. The track explodes with intensity and doesn't hold back. The melodic vocals soar with confidence and add excellent depth. "Our Last Stand" will bring with it the circle pits. The As I Lay Dying like sound is at the forefront as the track holds tight to the incredible Melodic Metal sound. "Theory of Mind" ups the ante as it blazes a path forward with its highly destructive nature. The melodic vocals have a touch of Iron Maiden to them as the track switches gears at a certain point and builds more layers of sonic depth. "Broken Into Pieces" is two and a half minutes of Thrash Metal. There's no slowing down, no holding back, just full speed ahead with carnage. The closer "Tidal Waves" is epic in its delivery. The track is a slight style change but still pulverizes the listener with a Metal sound that few have to offer up nowadays.

Cline's Mind stakes their claim as a Metal act that looks to breakthrough sooner rather than later.

-Interview- (5/13/21)
1. How did you get started with music and how did you develop your sound? Who thought of the name “Cline's Mind" and is there any meaning behind it?

I’ve been playing guitar in various metal bands since 1984.The Cline’s Mind project began back in 2005 when I established a small recording studio in my home. At the time I was in another band, but wanted to do my own thing without working with other musicians. Call it a side gig if you will. So I began writing material. I played all guitars, bass and vocals. Only thing I couldn’t do was real drums so I opted for a drum machine. (Horrible sound by the way!) I completed my first album “Evil Within”. I needed a name for my project and came up with Cline’s Mind. I felt it was very fitting since I did everything myself except one song where I asked my close friend to sing on. After I released that album, I went back to working with the other band I was in. I felt the Cline’s Mind thing was just going to remain a one time thing. I resurrected it again in 2017 with the release of an EP. And here we are 4 years and 6 full albums later.

2. What do you want people to take away from your music?

Probably the only thing I would want is for the fans to know I don’t copy any musicians/bands. Obviously, we all have our influences and similarities, But I feel the music I produce has its own unique sound. I always strive to keep the listener guessing as to how each song will unfold.

3. How would you describe your sound to the average listener?

Cline’s Mind is a blend of old school Thrash, mixed with Melodic Death Metal, Metalcore and just good old fashioned heavy metal. So a lot of old mixed with new.

4. Who are three bands you’d like to tour with?

Iron Maiden is my all time favorite metal band. So they would be first. Testament, just because how cool is Chuck Billy?! And they thrash! And 3rd I would say Soilwork. Those dudes are incredibly talented. And I had the pleasure of working with the lead singer, Bjorn Strid. He sang 3 songs on the EP Where The Sleepless Go in 2017.

5. How has Covid affected what you do as a band?

It hasn’t affected us in a negative way. We’re able to write a lot more music.

6. What’s your take on the current state of Metal?

It’s amazing to see how popular metal has become since the 80’s. It’s so much more mainstream. The fanbase has certainly increased by a lot. I only hope the popularity continues to grow.

7. What’s the current music scene like there in New York?

Probably like everywhere else. Non-existent due to this pandemic. But generally, in Upstate NY metal isn’t very big. Gotta go to NYC , Syracuse and Albany for any kind of decent reception.

8. What’s your take on the royalties that streaming services pay out to artists?

Complete garbage. They don’t pay what artists’ work is worth. CD’s are a thing of the past. Everyone streams now. Including myself. But there has to be a way for artists to get paid more. At least the indie artists.

9. What’s next for Cline's Mind?

Great question. We will definitely be writing new material, probably beginning in June. We want to release a 2nd album in 2021. Since 2019, we have been releasing 2 albums per year. I would also love to have a full band line up to actually start playing live shows. I truly miss performing live.

10. Any shoutouts?

To all our friends and family that have supported Cline’s Mind and others who have helped get our music heard by the masses. The toughest part of all this is getting your name known. So for those who have helped, much love!