Exiled From Grace

Exiled From Grace (Deathcore) - Sacramento, California

On December 10, 2015, Gerard Aguilar III and John Timmons reformed a project they were both a part of into Exiled From Grace. They had met as a result of Timmons going to attend a show of Aguilar's previous project and being asked to fill the vacant guitarist's spot for the show, which was postponed a week due to a scheduling mistake. During the week leading up to the show, Timmons and Aguilar started and completed the writing of one of the songs featured on "Tragedy".

Ultimately, after some line up changes, Timmons moved to the vocalist spot and he, Aguilar, and the current drummer decided on renaming their project to Exiled From Grace. After nearly a year of writing and beginning recording "Tragedy", Timmons and Aguilar recruited James Johnson to help them play the first Underrage Music Fest, who later joined the band as a permanent member. Shortly after, Molly and Dru Wallace both joined the band as the drummer and rhythm guitarist respectively. Eventually they contracted Randy Saelee to record "Tragedy" in it's entirety and released the record on October 20th, 2017.

Upcoming Shows:
More shows coming soon.

"Tragedy" EP Review
Exiled From Grace are an exiting up and coming Deathcore act from Sacramento, CA that recently released this five track EP to the masses. Let's dive on in and see what they're about. The opener and lead single "Saint" helps set the tone early by way of its blast beat drums and vicious breakdowns. The breakneck speed is admirable and brings to mind early Suicide Silence or the craziness of early Bring Me The Horizon. There's a dash of clean vocals on the track but it doesn't overwhelm the track. Overall it's a good opener that helps open things up. "Dead To Me" features David Haug (Heat Of Damage) and it doesn't disappoint. The track wastes no time at showcases the variations of Metal that they offer. There's a heavier element for sure but it also features a top notch clean melodic chorus. The blistering guitar riff later in the track is out of this world. "I, Heretic" cranks things up to 11. The track features enough breakdowns to get anyone moshing and riffs for days. It's a track that really stands out in being extremely heavy and confident. "Bastard Affliction" will get the heads bobbin along as it has a tremendous groove and high octane melody. The track should be a fan favorite in no time. The closer "Torn Apart" is a near eight minute track that perfectly showcases the natural talents of the band. It has everything a Metal fan could ever want. If you're a fan of Metal, Deathcore or anything heavy, snatch up this release up right away.

This new EP from Exiled From Grace is an absolute beast.

-Interview- (11/26/17)
1. How did you get started with music and how did you develop your sound? Who thought of the name “Exiled From Grace” and is there any meaning behind it?

John: I went to go see Gerard’s old band play a show and the promoter had told them the wrong date, so we just hung outside the venue getting to know each other and it turned out they needed a guitarist so they asked me to join. After about a month or so, we went through some line-up changes, I switched to vocals, and we formed Exiled From Grace, already having “I, Heretic” and “Dead To Me” written.

Gerard: We came up with the name “Exiled From Grace” in John’s garage just spit-balling names back and forth, trying to find one we liked.

John: For me, EFG has always stood for the idea of being exiled from society and happiness and, in turn, being forced to find your own version of happiness, morality, etc.

2. What do you want people to take away from your "Tragedy” EP?

Gerard: I just want people to listen to some good music and want to come see us live and have a fun time.

John: Lyrically, it’s just about a collection of things that piss me off and I hope that some kid listens to it and, whether they identify with it or not, realizes it’s okay to be pissed off. This world is full of sh*t to piss you off and it’s not unhealthy to recognize the negativity of it all.

3. How would you describe your sound to the average listener?

John, Gerard, Dru: Melodic and heavy.

4. Who are three bands you’d like to tour with?

Gerard, Dru: Knocked Loose, Spite, and Sworn In.

John: Motionless in White, Spite, and Thy Art Is Murder.

5. What are your three desert island albums that you'd never get tired of listening to?

Gerard, Dru: "The lovers the devil, all smiles" by Sworn in and Infant Annihilator’s newest record.

John: Spite’s "Self Titled", "An Ocean Between Us" by As I Lay Dying, and probably Marilyn Manson’s "Antichrist Superstar".

6. What’s your take on the current state of Deathcore?

John: I’m happy with the direction it’s been going in recent years. For awhile, it seemed like all the new deathcore bands were just recycling the same regurgitated sounds over and over again and now it seems like everyone’s trying to bring their own thing to the table and it’s really causing the genre to progress.

Dru: I think deathcore is just one of those genres that’s the greatest to play live because it doesn’t matter whether you’re a fan of the genre, everyone in that room is gonna move and get off their feet. It just has that power to it.

7. What’s the current music scene like there in California both locally and state wide?

John: Very supportive.

Gerard: Everyone knows everyone and everyone is really tight-knit and supportive of each other because of it.

John: Also, because there’s a lot more sellers than buyers, a good portion of your fans will be in bands themselves and because of that they sort of understand the BS you have to go through in this job and they are very supportive because of that.

8. What’s your take on legal/illegal music downloading?

John: I think on one hand, it’s indicative of a culture that doesn’t value art to the point where they won’t pay 99 cents for a song that costs hundreds of dollars and hours to make. On the other hand, it is what it is and I’m not gonna fixate on it since the people that care about us will support us.

Gerard: Honestly, as long as people are listening to it, I don’t care how they get it. You’re still listening to my music either way.

9. What’s next for Exiled From Grace?

John: We just released our "Tragedy" EP about a month ago. We’re currently writing our full-length now and trying to play more shows to get our name out there more. We’re hoping people like what we’re writing because it’s very different and very heavy and we’re excited to share it with everyone.

10. Any shoutouts?

John: Thanks to everyone who has supported EFG thus far! You guys are the reason we’re able to do what we do and we’ll always be grateful for that!