Head Of Hydrus

Head Of Hydrus (Metalcore) - Troy, New York

Head of Hydrus is a Progressive Metalcore band out of Troy, New York. It was founded in the beginning of 2011 when Guitarists TJ Doyle, Tony Ciaccia and Drummer Jordan Strube got together and started the project with life long goals in mind. After a lot of experimenting and a few releases later, they have found their direction and are excited to keep progressing in their craft. Bringing you melodic leads coupled with groove rhythms and technical breakdowns, there is a little bit of everything for all to enjoy!

Upcoming Shows:
4/21/18 - Daily Double - Glens Falls, NY

"Contingency" Album Review
Head Of Hydrus are a Progressive Metalcore band from Troy, NY looking to make a dent in the scene with their recent full length album "Contingency". Let's see if they have what it takes to do just that. The opening track "Sunrise" kicks off with an massive, exhilarating breakdown before head into an Unearth style of a track. The track is fast, heavy and really knows how to get the blood flowing. "Inferno" has a furious Thrash vibe that brings to mind Lamb Of God. The track has a lot going for it as it knows how to perfectly create a sound that is fresh, unique and a mix of Thrash and Metalcore. It's very much like an "Inferno" as its heavy as hell! "Endless" is a track that has the tenacity of early Parkway Drive as it twists and turns and creates a remarkably complex Metalcore sound. Everything is just so smooth on the track and it's full of layers that the listener will be coming back for more and more. "False Hope" has a slow opening before until an unstoppable force of musical nature. The track bears down on the listener and unleashes some earth shattering breakdowns with some awesome melodic riffs. The outro of the track is purely instrumental and anyone into early Between The Buried And Me would certainly dig it. "Artificial Conception" kicks the pace back up to breakneck speeds. The track is intricate as it bobs and weaves through the field of Progressive Metalcore. "You.2" was a single off the album and it encompasses everything about their sound perfectly. It's an emotional journey and brings to mind It Prevails. It's a stunner of a track. "Snow" is a short emotional track that helps the listener have a little break. It's a more ambient track with some harsh vocals sprinkled in but helps build the "calm before the storm" atmosphere. "Satori" takes things up a notch and back into the Head Of Hydrus style. The guitar work on the track is stellar and helps elevate the album to new heights. "Song For..." blasts the doors off and even features clean vocals. It's a Melodic Metalcore track that doesn't depend all that much on the cleans and instead just intends to devastate with the destructive breakdowns. "Through The Cracks" continues the onslaught and brings back the intensity of the early Parkway Drive sound. There's melodic riffs but still has that signature Head Of Hydrus edge. The closing track "Until Next Time" has all the makings of a good closer. The track has the passion, intensity, drive and determination to create a sound that the listener won't soon forget, have on repeat and will yearn for more. This full length album proves that Head Of Hydrus are a force to be reckoned with.

If you're a fan of heavier music you NEED to pick up this full length album from Head Of Hydrus.

-Interview- (4/30/17)
1. How did you get started with music and how did you develop your sound? Who thought of the name “Head Of Hydrus” and is there any meaning behind it?

Well Jordan and Tony are cousins, and Tony also went to school with TJ and Devan. Once we all knew we had similar interests in music, we started practicing a lot together and eventually decided to start writing our own songs. We found our vocalist Nick Rossi along the way, and couldn’t be happier with the decision to bring him on board with us. As for developing our sound, we just continue to listen to more and more music. We find influences that we really enjoy, and put our own personal twist on it to try and make it feel unique to us. We found the name together, the star at the top of the constellation Hydrus is called “Head Of Hydrus”. It can only be seen in the southern hemisphere, so being from upstate New York, we made it a personal mission of ours to see it some day.

2. What do you want listeners to take away from your "Contingency" album?

We really just want everybody to have fun with it. Make your own interpretation of what we have expressed, use it as your own motivation and share some positive vibes. Basically just enjoy the ride!

3. What can people expect from your live show?

You can expect a lot of energy that will keep you moving.

4. What's your favorite track to play live?

It’s a toss up between "You.2" and "Satori".

5. Who are three bands you’d like to tour with?

After The Burial, Parkway Drive, and August Burns Red.

6. Any crazy show stories?

We played a show in North Adams Mass. in a haunted gymnasium. While we were playing our set, the lights in the venue went out on us. One of our amps cut out too, and after the set our vocalist had random scratch marks on his arm and back…..

7. What’s your take on the current state of Metalcore?

It has changed a lot over the past 15 years or so, but we can still hear it’s roots in a lot of new music that has been coming out today. We love it!

8. What’s the current music scene like there in New York both locally and statewide?

We have only really played local shows so far, but the scene is great. There are plenty of opportunities for new bands to play shows, and all the venues and promoters treat you very well.

9. What’s your take on legal/illegal music downloading?

With everything so readily available on the internet today, it’s nearly impossible to stand up against illegal downloading of music. If you are truly a fan of an artist then go to their shows. Buy some merch and a CD to show your support.

10. What’s next for Head Of Hydrus?

More shows outside our local area, and just a lot more music!

11. Any shoutouts?

Our families and close friends that continue to stick by us, much love everybody.