Heartache (Progressive Rock/Metal) - Italy

Progressive rock, metal, atmosphere and skills are fused with almost pop music flavoured melodies in what becomes the perfect marriage of inspiration and history of the great Progressive bands from the seventies until today. Such drive will see the birth, in 2012, of Heartache's debut EP Apophis (CNI, Musea Records). At the end of 2016, following their first release, the band published their first full-length album Skyscrapers and Firefalls for Sliptrick Records. The band comes back in 2019 with a new single, The Sinner, available on YouTube with a recorded live performance. The song deals with the duality of men and their deceiving. Such themes also recur in the band's following singles Liquid Skin, Erasing Time and Talk to My Soul, all released in 2020. In 2021, Heartache record two EPs, Dolos and Apate, initially reserved for physical distribution only. The first track extracted from Dolos and distributed on digital platforms is Mystic Den, released on October 29, 2021. The second sigle extracted from Dolos is Led Astray, released on March 4, 2022. The next single to be released is Faces, a psychedelic song about the birth of a witch's son, the release date on all digital platforms is September 9, 2022.

Heartache is:
Luca Aldisio (Vocals, Acoustic Guitar)
Matteo Palladini (Guitar, Vocals)
Alessandro Giordano (Drums, Backing Vocals)
Emiliano Venanzini (Bass, Backing Vocals)
Alessandro Ippoliti (Keys, Backing Vocals)

"Faces" Single Review
The track starts with right away with Progressive tones and atmosphere to build a Tool like vibe. The moody setting amps breaks through the closer it gets to the one minute mark as the haunting vocals soar alongside the heavier instrumentation. The second verse slows things back down before bursting back out through closer to the chorus. The chorus is excellent with its heaviness and melodies. The third verse switches things up a bitwith a bit more depth before heading back into the fantastic chorus. The ending of the track slows things down to a halt at around the three minute mark. The ambient/Progressive instrumental tones cap off the track for the remainder of the run time.

The new single from Heartache conjure up some Tool tendencies and stylings.

-Interview- (9/23/22)
1. How did you get started with music and how did you develop your sound? Who thought of the name "Heartache" and is there any meaning behind it?

Hello everyone on From The Depths, first of all thank you for this interview and your collaboration and interest in our project. We all developed our love for music through our teenage years, when, like everybody, we were struggling to find a way to express ourselves; Music came to us like a revelation and helped us to define ourselves as people and signed the path of our youth. The name Heartache has roots from those days, when we started to face difficulties and sadness for the first time, nowadays this name is still truthful to our conscience of people that accept the full spectrum of feelings and don’t want to bare the obscure side of our souls.

2. What do you want people to take away from your music?

We would love to share a journey with those who listen to our tracks, because every tune we come up with is the result of a musical idea that evolves and takes different shapes throughout the entirety of the song.

3. How would you describe your sound to the average listener?

We would describe it as dark and proggy, with some psychedelic twists… We offer an unconventional rock/metal music with strong melodies, two lead voices and cool grooves!

4. Who are three bands you’d like to tour with?

Well, tough question... but we would choose to go with Tool, Opeth and Lizzard, a French alternative rock/metal band we saw recently in Roma that impressed us.

5. How has Covid affected what you do?

Covid had unluckily a real impact on our plans, we were trying to organize a new tour and a lot of concerts, it came out of nowhere and everything suspended for almost two years... in the other hand it gave us the opportunity of being more focused on the writing process, in fact in those days we wrote what became our latest Ep Dolos. Covid let us understand also the importance of small things and forced slow lifestyle, we wrote the lyrics for "Numbers" (a track from Dolos that will be released very soon) just about this topic.

6. What’s your take on the current state of Progressive Metal?

We always enjoy discovering new bands from the prog Rock/Metal scene, we think that behind the big names there’s plenty of very good bands that deserve to be highlighted; Lizzard is just one of them, like Thank You Scientist or King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard.

7. What's the current music scene like there in Italy?

From our point of view the problem in Italy is that clubs don't let the bands grow up through the stage. It' s way better to choose a cover band to fill the venue, and a lot of clubs go through this. The problem is not the cover band itself, but the owner who thinks that a Pink Floyd cover band can play each night and however fill the venue. People lose interest if you schedule your lives with all cover bands. The original music is just a different experience.

8. What’s your take on the royalties that streaming services pay out to artists?

Well, we think that streaming services are a very convenient way to discover new music and reach artists from all around the globe; but the royalties system is unequal, every artist put effort, time and money in the creative process and the value of it is not recognized by the artist’s income per stream.

9. What’s next for Heartache?

We are finishing to write the new album, this time we decided to produce a full length and it has been a great new experience for us because it is the first writing process with the new bass player Emiliano Venanzini in charge and he is adding great new ideas and bass licks that we hope you can listen to very soon. This time we are trying something really new for us and that's exciting! We are also competing for many festivals through the whole Europe, we really hope to play the new album over there.

10. Any shoutouts?

Thank you very much From The Depths for this space and the opportunity to share a little piece of ourselves, thanks to all the people who follow us and keep listening to our music from all over the world, You are the best!